Make your own vegan kefir with rice milk which is a healthy source of nutrition and dairy-free probiotics. The probiotics provide beneficial bacteria that help maintain healthy digestion. If you are not vegan, you can substitute cow’s or goat’s milk for rice milk or other non-dairy liquids to create this age-old healthy fermented drink.

What is Kefir?


It has a thin, creamy consistency similar to yogurt drinks and contains yeast in addition to beneficial bacteria. Rice milk kefir offers a suitable alternative drink for people with lactose intolerance or allergies to dairy products, or for anyone who prefers to avoid consuming dairy or animal products.

How to make kefir at home?

Ingredients you will need

  • 1/4 of rice milk.
  • 3 tbsp. live kefir grains or 1 packet kefir starter powder.
  • 2 jars of 1 liter.


  1. If you are using commercial rice milk, leave the unopened box of rice milk out of the refrigerator overnight. Packaged rice milk does not require refrigeration. Allowing it to get a little hot helps to activate the kefir’s starter.
  2. Pour the grains of this product and the rice milk into a clean container. Put the lid on the jar and leave at room temperature for 24 hours.
  3. Take the jar and swirl it in circles to shake the contents four or five times throughout the day.
  4. Remove the lid from the jar after 24 hours. Secure two layers of gauze over the opening of the jar with a rubber band.
  5. Strain the kefir into a second clean jar by pouring through the attached cheesecloth. Save the grains for your next batch of rice milk kefir.
  6. Place the completed rice milk kefir in the refrigerator. You can serve it cold.


Share this...